2022 Best Practices Honorees Announced

In recognition of current and future leaders in optometry, CooperVision announced today its 2022 Best Practices honorees and student scholarship recipients. The initiative—now in its seventh year—brings together innovative U.S. eye care practices committed to advancing the profession and providing exceptional patient care, while the student scholarship component enables standout optometry students to learn directly from some of the best in optometry.

The 10 new honorees join a prestigious group of 60 other extraordinary optometry practices that have been profiled and supported through the initiative since 2016. This year, honorees were selected based on their efforts across five key categories: industry advancement, community impact, patient experience, specialty services, and team building.

Best Practices proves that there are countless ways a practice can achieve success in patient care, industry advancement, practice management, and more. What they all have in common is their dedication to their patients and the profession—they never stop striving to push further,” said Michele Andrews, OD, Vice President of Professional and Government Affairs, Americas, CooperVision. “It’s always a privilege to hear their stories and provide opportunities to share their experiences—not only in their collaboration with the other honorees, but with eye care professionals everywhere. Congratulations to this year’s honorees.”

The 2022 Best Practices honorees are:

CooperVision has also added a Best Practices Award of Excellence to the program beginning in 2022, recognizing practices who demonstrated exceptional potential in their submissions while retaining Best Practices eligibility in future years. This award was given to: Anderson & Chhabra Eyecare in Lake Magdalene, Fla.; The Chicago Lighthouse in Chicago; Clarity Vision in Suffolk, Va.; Dr. Hanlen and Associates in Boalsburg, Pa.; Elevated Eyecare in McDonough, Ga.; Harbor Eyecare Center in Portsmouth, N.H.; Littleton Eye Care Center in Littleton, N.H.; Moses Eyecare Center in Merrillville, Ind.; Sea Eye Care in Norfolk, Va.; and Vision Source Rio in Rio Rancho, N.M.

In 2020, CooperVision expanded Best Practices to include a complementary student scholarship program, which provides outstanding third-year optometry students with the opportunity to attend the educational summit to learn from the honorees.

The 2022 Best Practices Scholarship recipients are:

  • Dana DeVito, Indiana University School of Optometry
  • Benjamin Gutsin, Salus University College of Optometry
  • Briana Vargas, Rosenburg School of Optometry

Recipients were chosen based on their academic standing at a U.S. optometry school, their demonstration of leadership and participation in school or community activities, honors, and additional optometry-related experience.

“As Best Practices grew—and we saw the full value of the collaboration between these outstanding eye care professionals—it was only natural to extend the program to include students as well,” said Dr. Andrews. “We know that this year’s scholarship recipients have bright futures ahead of them, and we’re eager to hear more from them at the Summit. The students learn from the honorees, but they bring their own perspectives to the discussions as well.”

To stay up to date on Best Practices and learn more about this year’s honorees, visit coopervision.com/practitioner/best-practices and follow CooperVision on Facebook and on Twitter.

More Blog Posts
Related posts