CooperVision Announces 2023 Best Practices Honorees and Student Scholarship Recipients

Following its annual nationwide search for current and future leaders in optometry, CooperVision has named its 2023 Best Practices honorees and student scholarship recipients. The initiative—now in its eighth year—honors eye care practices across the U.S. that advance the profession through innovation, industry leadership, and providing exceptional patient care. The scholarship program provides third-year optometry students the opportunity to learn from and collaborate with some of the best in the profession.

The 10 new honorees join a prestigious group of 70 other extraordinary optometry practices that have been featured and supported through the initiative since 2016.

“Success in optometry comes in many different forms, and we love that Best Practices sheds light on practices that truly view challenges as opportunities. These practices are constantly evolving in response to changes not only in the industry, but in the wants and needs of today’s patients—and they are among the best in the country because of this mindset,” said Michele Andrews, OD, Vice President of Professional and Government Affairs, Americas, CooperVision. “As always, we have great things in store for our new honorees, including collaboration and sharing their stories. We welcome them all to the Best Practices family.”

The 2023 Best Practices honorees are:

CooperVision expanded its Best Practices program in 2020 to include a scholarship for third-year optometry students, providing them the opportunity to attend the annual educational summit and hear firsthand the honorees’ experiences and secrets to success.

The 2023 Best Practices Scholarship recipients are:

  • Emily Benson, The Ohio State University College of Optometry
  • Makayla Harr, University of Pikeville Kentucky College of Optometry
  • Susmitha Narisetty, Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University

Scholarship recipients were selected based on their academic standing at a U.S. optometry school, their demonstration of leadership and participation in school or community activities, honors, and additional optometry-related experience.

“Peer-to-peer collaboration and education is a major highlight of the Best Practices program. When young optometrists have the chance to learn from these well-established practices and long-term practitioners, they not only glean real-life insights into day-to-day practice, but they can share their own views about the future of optometry,” said Dr. Andrews. “The scholarship recipients are passionate and eager to learn, and the honorees always pick up a tip or two from them as well.”

More Blog Posts
Related posts